Wisdom tooth soreness forces McIlroy to withdraw from golf tournament

Ever had a sore wisdom tooth? Well, if you have you know know what Rory McIlroy was going through today as he withdrew from Friday’s second round of The Honda Classic.

McIlroy, the defending champion of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., Honda Classic and the world’s No. 1 golfer, left the tournament because of soreness from his wisdom tooth.

Shortly after his withdraw, he issued a statement declaring that the pain from the wisdom tooth was too much.

“I sincerely apoloize to The Honda Classic and PGA TOUR for my sudden withdrawal,” McIlroy said. “I have been suffering with a sore wisdom tooth, which is due to come out in the near future. It began bothering me again last night, so I relieved it with Advil. It was very painful again this morning, and I was simply unable to concentrate. It was really bothering me and had begun to affect my playing partners. I came here with every intention of defending my Honda Classic title. Even though my results haven’t revealed it, I really felt like I was rounding a corner. This is one of my favorite tournaments of the year and I regret having to make the decision to withdraw, but it was one I had to make.”

Wisdom teeth can be very painful, especially when they are misaligned or impacted. Impacted teeth are enclosed within the soft tissue or jawbone or only partly break through or erupt through the gum. If the tooth partially broke through the gums, then there’s a danger of bacteria to enter around the tooth, causing infection, pain, swelling jaw stiffness and even general illness.

Be sure to check your dentist about your wisdom teeth. If ignored long enough, you may experience pain like McIlroy did today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dental Tips, News, Oral health, Teeth, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

